leased vehicles) you may need to obtain legal permission to complete your registration renewal with a Power of Attorney from your leasing company. The New Jersey MVC does not charge a late fee for renewing your NJ plates after they expire. You can request your PIN here, Application for Vehicle Registration, Registration Renewal Notice or Vehicle Identification Number, Your insurance card or company name and policy number, Proof of ID (Driver license or other primary ID document. If you register your vehicle in another state while on active duty, you can apply for a refund on the remaining time left on your NJ registration.

Didn’t find the form you need? The Motor Vehicle Commissions uses a Four-Year Accelerated Registration Program for New Jersey Vehicle Registrations, which requires all vehicle owners of brand new passenger vehicles to pay the NJ vehicle registration fee in full for a four-year period. The NJ Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC) oversees vehicle registration and titling in New Jersey along with other important services for drivers. When the military personnel member has completed his or her tour of duty, he or she will have 90 days to complete any necessary renewals before any late penalties will be assessed. Remaking of an Existing Licensing Plate – Form SP89 | Download If you purchase a vehicle from a dealership in New Jersey, that dealership will handle your registration and title work for you. You will be reminded of the expiration date on your registration certificate by receiving a renewal notice from the NJ MVC. Unlike in some states, car registration online is not possible in the state of New Jersey. Send the completed application with the seal or stamp of the VA to your local MVC office, or mail application to: Motor Vehicle CommissionGovernment UnitP.O. It's your responsibility to know when your emissions sticker expires.

Most vehicle owners will have to provide the following documents to successfully register a car in New Jersey: Drivers who would like to pay the car registration of a used vehicle purchased outside of New Jersey must provide additional documentation. Drivers in this case can usually qualify for a temporary registration issued by the DMV if they can meet the states eligibility requirements. Credit card information (American Express, Visa, MasterCard) to cover registration renewal costs.

Below you’ll find a list of PDF forms that are currently available so you could complete them at your convenience. Car registration requirements are different for buyers coming from out-of-state to purchase a vehicle in New Jersey and take it back to their home state. First License. In New Jersey, car registration is required by law before any vehicle can be driven. Vehicle owners from out-of-state must follow a similar application process as resident vehicle owners, in addition to providing the following documentation: After completing the vehicle registration and titling procedures in New Jersey, vehicle owners will receive a registration certificate and two license plates. Follow the MVC's most recent updates for the latest information. An original New Jersey Certificate of Title assigned to you and reflecting your out-of-state address, Temporary non-resident registration: $5.00. Drivers in this situation can take the following steps to register their vehicles in New Jersey: Car registration services for members of the U.S. military are somewhat different than those for other state citizens. Get A Free Insurance Quote. Use this form to obtain a duplicate NJ vehicle title from the MVC. Proof of adequate New Jersey auto insurance. Drivers in this case can usually qualify for a temporary registration issued by the DMV if they can meet the state’s eligibility requirements. Submit the application and receive your registration receipt.

The requirements for registering a car in New Jersey vary based on where and how the vehicle owner acquired the car. In response to the COVID-19 pandemic, state DMVs nationwide have closed office locations, extended license and registration expiration dates, and/or limited the transactions they are processing. In case the dealer is not authorized to submit the necessary paperwork, the vehicle owner will have to following the same registration procedure as owners of used vehicles by visiting the MVC in-person. Note that you cannot change your address by mail. You can pay by cash, money order, checks (payable to NJMVC), credit or debit card.; Services; Agencies; FAQs; Online Services. You will not be able to renew online if the date on the renewal noticed has passed. Have you recently moved?

If you intend to renew your New Jersey vehicle registration online, there is a credit card convenience fee for the transaction.

Box 160 Trenton, NJ 08666 (609) 292-6500 If you are deaf or hard of hearing, please use 7-1-1 NJ Relay is a privately-owned website and is not affiliated with government agencies.

You will need to apply for replacement NJ license plates if they're no longer legible or have gone missing. VIEW DETAILS .

These permits are generally valid for a period of 30 days. There are many different fees that are applied during the NJ registration process. If you'd like to learn why you didn't receive your notice, contact the MVC by e-mail or calling (609) 292-6500. This is given in the renewal notice that MVC will send to you. If you plan to renew your registration through mail, you may use the envelope provided with the renewal notice and mail a renewal application to the NJ Motor Vehicle Commission. For more detailed fee information, view the MVC's fee chart.

NJ residents who are away on active duty also have particular registration policies that they can follow in New Jersey. Applying for a title and car registration documents is necessary for all vehicle owners living in New Jersey. Official Site of The State of New Jersey ...; Services; Agencies; FAQs; Welcome to NJMVC.GOV! For more information on New Jersey's insurance laws and for local carriers, check out our Car Insurance page. The link for online car registration renewal is given on the state’s official website.